Rational Emacs Update

In my last blog post, I introduced the Rational Emacs project. Since then, I have become one of the maintainers for the project! I was very excited to be asked to join the team and am super thrilled to participate in this capacity. So, since I've been helping out a bit, I thought it might be nice to provide an update on what's been going on since my last post. That being said, I'm not going to cover every single pull request we have merged, but I'll mention some of the more impactful and major changes we've made.

And, as I've been looking into the pull requests as they come in, I've been using Rational Emacs more frequently to the point I've started adding the bits from my personal configuration I find myself missing. So, while in my last post I said I wouldn't be migrating my configuration, it seems that I've been doing exactly that! I'm nearly to the point of having my complete configuration ported over to Rational.

Discussions

Pull Requests

Besides the aforementioned switch to using package.el and the use of advice for the short answers configuration in Emacs 27, there were these interesting pull requests:

Shameless Plug

If you enjoy configuring Emacs and tweak yours often, you might consider giving Rational Emacs a try. I'm sure you'll find some rough edges, and when you do, I invite you to open an issue, or submit a pull request. Or, maybe you won't find any rough edges and this will be just the thing you need. I'm not holding my breath on that just yet.

If you enjoy crafting your computing experience, from hacking on Emacs, your Linux/Mac/Windows configuration, maybe your Guix or NixOS home configuration, or whatever it is… consider joining the SystemCrafters community!

Finally…

I have really enjoyed working on this project! I'm super thrilled I was asked to participate as a maintainer, so I hope I'm doing a good job. I'll put another update post in the future, maybe this will be a monthly thing. It kinda depends on how much is going on with the project. If there is a lot, maybe a more frequent update pace makes sense. We'll see how it goes.

Tags: #emacs