Crafted Emacs Update for January 2023 – A New Direction!

Welcome to 2023 and another update of the Crafted Emacs project! Today's post is going to be different than prior posts; today I discuss what is coming in the, hopefully, near future for Crafted Emacs.

Major changes are coming. After a year of working on this project we have learned a lot of things, not just about working on an Emacs configuration, but about our own goals for the project. Many of the original principles and goals will remain, but with a different focus. The change then… we are moving from the concept of being a starter kit and really getting back to the one of the original concepts with the System Crafters mentality – that of “you own your own configuration”.

To that end, here is a short list of things we are going to change. This is not an all inclusive list at this time, but just because this will be a disruptive change (or many of them!) we are trying to communicate them early.

So lots of changes coming. I'll still be doing what I can to fix issues as they appear for the existing project codebase, but this will be my focus for a while. When I have something stable enough to test, I'll share the branch where I'm making the changes. With this effort, I'll close a lot (maybe all) of the outstanding issues so we can start with a clean slate.

Shameless Plug

If you enjoy configuring Emacs and tweak yours often, you might consider giving Crafted Emacs a try. I'm sure you'll find some rough edges, and when you do, I invite you to open an issue, or submit a pull request. Or, maybe you won't find any rough edges and this will be just the thing you need. I'm not holding my breath on that just yet.

If you enjoy crafting your computing experience, from hacking on Emacs, your Linux/Mac/Windows configuration, maybe your Guix or NixOS home configuration, or whatever it is… consider joining the SystemCrafters community!

Tags: #emacs