Crafted Emacs Update

Two posts in one month! That's new! After my last post, I thought I'd catch up with an update about the issues and pull requests that have happened since the rename. I also made a really long post on Discord which I will cover later in this post as well.

Issues

There have been a few issues raised, the current outstanding ones haven't seen much movement in quite a while.

Pull Requests

There were a lot of these, most of them bug fixes, and an update to the straight package manager configuration to move to the most recent version. I won't mention all 23 of them, but here are some of them:

And a few other typos, fixes, removals after the Rational to Crafted rename.

Recap from Discord

I recently made a long post on the #crafted-emacs channel on the System Crafters Discord server. Here is a recap.

Compared to other starter kits

As far as comparison to other kits like Prelude (a personal favorite), Doom, Spacemacs et. al., Crafted Emacs is not a complete solution in the same sense as those are. You are expected to “fill in the gaps”. So, its like a quick start from scratch kinda thing. Imagine starting your config from scratch, but using some pre-built pieces for some common things (and, in some cases, not so common – erlang anyone?) to jump start your config.

Emacs 29 compatibility

On whether Crafted Emacs is ready for Emacs 29… well, YMMV. We (and by “We”, I mean “Me”) aren't trying to make sure it works with 29. Keeping it going and killing bugs as they appear for 27 and 28 is the priority. When the 29 release cycle starts, I'll probably get a fresh copy and start making updates on a branch to merge after Emacs 29 comes out. That said, if you are using 29 as your daily driver, just know there are breaking changes there which affect more than just Crafted Emacs. There are packages which have not (yet) updated to the Emacs 29 API differences, so things can break. Other features, like eglot being merged to mainline (!!) may cause a change in the crafted-ide module since we prefer to use eglot at the moment.

Crafted TODOs

Other things on my TODO list are items like:

Shameless Plug

If you enjoy configuring Emacs and tweak yours often, you might consider giving Crafted Emacs a try. I'm sure you'll find some rough edges, and when you do, I invite you to open an issue, or submit a pull request. Or, maybe you won't find any rough edges and this will be just the thing you need. I'm not holding my breath on that just yet.

If you enjoy crafting your computing experience, from hacking on Emacs, your Linux/Mac/Windows configuration, maybe your Guix or NixOS home configuration, or whatever it is… consider joining the SystemCrafters community!

Tags: #emacs